This website uses cookies (the non-yummy kind)

Cookies are used to make my website work. They keep it safe, secure and accessible. You can disable these by changing your browser settings, but this may affect how the website functions.

I'd also like to set optional analytics cookies to help me make improvements by collecting and reporting information on how you use it. I won't set optional cookies unless you enable them.

For more detailed information about the cookies I use, read my policy.

Skip to main content

My little purple book

I’ve been networking, on and offline, for more than a decade. I know good people.

I want to help people, particularly fellow small business types, but the thing is... it takes up a serious amount of time

Early morning breakfast meetings. Community lunches. Late-night networking events. Consistently showing up. Following up. Discovery calls. Connection requests.  1-2-1 meetings. In fact, my "being helpful" referrals were regularly taking me 1-2 hours after each meeting. That's a lot of time, emotional labour, and - cutting to it - money coming out of my small business. For more than ten years

So I’ve had to make things a little more self-service now. Below are my go-to’s - people, places, stuff, communities, events, causes and motorsport-specific stuff. These are all people I’ve worked with or things I’ve been a part of that I’m happy to recommend. They haven’t asked to be on it, and like a Nando’s Black Card, you can’t request to be a part of this either.

Just reach out directly to them and tell them I sent you! 

I’ll update this list from time to time, so you can always check back later now you have the secret link. All I ask is that you don’t publicly share this link; you probably know by now I’m big into privacy, and this list wasn’t set out to be a replacement for the Yellow Pages.

I'm not an uber-cool influencer, or an affiliate, that makes money off recommendations. So if I've sent you in the way of someone/thing/where awesome, maybe you can send me a virtual Earl Grey in a couple of taps. I’d really appreciate it.

If there is someone more specific you want me to introduce you to, and you can’t find them via search engines or social channels, then please do still ask.

3D modelling & design

YSF Design

Ask for: Yusuf Islam

Email: yusuf@ysfdesign.net

  • People
  • Motorsport

Accountancy

Wellers

Ask for: Christina Nawrocki

Email: christina.nawrocki@wellersaccountants.co.uk

  • People

Cafe

The Yurt at Nicholsons

Ask for: Tami Battle

Email: Tami@nicholsonsgb.com

  • Places
  • Women in business

Connectors

Stäubli

Ask for: Matt Hawkins

Email: m.hawkins@staubli.com

  • Motorsport

Copywriting

Fierce Content

Ask for: Chelsea Groome

Email: chelsea@fierce-content.com

  • People
  • Women in business

Creative events & production

Amy Meadows Events

Ask for: Amy Johnson

Email: amy@amymeadows.co

  • Women in business
  • People

Drinks bottles

Hydrorace

Ask for: Dan O'Connor

Email: dan@hydrorace.co.uk

  • Stuff
  • Motorsport

Electronics

DC Electronics

Ask for: Martin Dewey

Email: martin@dcemotorsport.com

  • Motorsport

Event

Business in Oxford

Email: info@businessinoxford.com

  • Events

Event

Venturefest

  • Events

Event

Formula Student

Email: formulastudent@imeche.org

  • Causes
  • Motorsport

Event

IWD Banbury

Email: hello@iwdbanbury.com

  • Events
  • Causes

Events, networking and support

The Circle

Email: Peta@thecircle.ngo

  • Women in business
  • Communities
  • Causes

Events, networking and support

Oxford Independent Consultants

Ask for: Phil Walsh

  • Communities

Events, networking and support

Digital Oxford

Email: hello@digitaloxford.com

  • Communities

Events, networking and support

Silverstone Technology Cluster

Ask for: Pim Van Barsen

Email: pim@silverstonetechnologycluster.com

  • Communities
  • Motorsport

Events, networking and support

The Motorsport Industry Association

Ask for: Fiona Aylett

Email: fiona.aylett@the-mia.com

  • Communities
  • Motorsport

Events, networking and support

The Oxford Collective

  • Communities

Events, networking and support

The Oxfordshire Project

Email: ben@oxfordshireproject.co.uk

  • Communities

Events, networking and support

Customer Success Cafe

Email: community@customersuccess.network

  • Communities

Facilitation and coaching

Walsh’s Learning to Achieve

Ask for: Phil Walsh

Email: phil@walshslearningtoachieve.co.uk

  • People

Facilitation and coaching

Peptalk

Ask for: Mandy Spooner

Email: mandy@peptalktraining.co.uk

  • People
  • Women in business

Fitness and sports performance

Boomerang Pro Fitness

Ask for: John Camilleri

Email: john@boomerangpro.fitness

  • Motorsport

Flight cases

5 Star Cases

Ask for: Keith Sykes

Email: info@5star-cases.com

  • Motorsport
  • Stuff

Floristry

greenery

Ask for: Kate Ladd

Email: hellogreenery@gmail.com

  • Women in business
  • Stuff

Freelance community

Hoxby

Email: enquiries@hoxby.com

  • Communities

Fuel cells

ATL

Ask for: Toby Jenkins

Email: toby@atlltd.com

  • Motorsport

Health and safety

The Safety Elf

Ask for: Alison Thompson

Email: alison@thesafetyelf.co.uk

  • People
  • Women in business

HR

Meraki HR

Ask for: Emma Browning

Email: emma@merakihr.com

  • People
  • Women in business

Insurance

John Morgan Partnership

Ask for: Colin Jones

Email: ColinJ@johngroup.co.uk

  • People

Jewellery

EF Jewellery

Ask for: Emily Fermor

Email: emily@jewelsfromem.co.uk

  • Stuff
  • Women in business

Kids stuff

POP

Ask for: Sophie Powell

Email: hello@we-are-pop.co.uk

  • Stuff
  • Women in business

Local business support

Banbury Women in Business

Ask for: Rebecca Peary

Email: info@banburywomeninbusiness.co.uk

  • Communities
  • Women in business

Local business support

Oxfordshire Local Enterprise Partnership - OxLEP

Email: info@oxfordshirelep.com

  • Communities

Local business support

South East Midlands Local Enterprise Partnership - SEMLEP

Email: growthhub@semlep.com

  • Communities

Local business support

Banbury Chamber of Commerce

Ask for: Yasmin Kaduji

Email: bcoc@banburychamber.com

  • Communities

Logistics

Logicom Hub

Ask for: Sam Stretton

Email: sam@logicomhub.co.uk

  • Women in business
  • People

Market Research

ACE Market Research

Ask for: Amanda Claesens

Email: amanda.claesens@acemr.co.uk

  • Women in business
  • People

Modern calligraphy and lettering

Illyboo Designs

Ask for: Illyahna Johnson

Email: hello@illyboodesigns.com

  • Women in business
  • People

Offices

Greatworth Hall

Ask for: Rosie Jefferies

Email: rosie@greatworthhall.com

  • Places

Paddock equipment

CES

Ask for: Ian Matthews

Email: sales@ceseuropeltd.co.uk

  • Motorsport

Paddock equipment

Paddock Space

Ask for: Dave Brookman

Email: sales@paddockspace.net

  • Motorsport

Personal brand strategy

Build your brand story

Ask for: Lucy Eckley

  • People
  • Women in business

Photography

JEP

Ask for: Mike Hoyer

Email: mike@jakobebrey.com

  • Motorsport

Photography

Becky Moyce

Ask for: Becky Moyce

Email: beckymoyce@aim.com

  • People
  • Women in business

Photography

Drew Gibson

Ask for: Drew Gibson

Email: drew@drew-gibson.co.uk

  • Motorsport

Placements and internships

Activate Learning

Ask for: Nancy Buckley

Email: Nancy.Buckley@activatelearning.ac.uk

  • People

Placements and internships - Engineering

Oxford Brookes University

Ask for: Gordana Collier

Email: gordanacollier@brookes.ac.uk

  • People
  • Motorsport

Promotional merchandise

Chilli Promotions

Ask for: Jody Fletcher

Email: jody@chillipromotions.co.uk

  • Stuff
  • Women in business

Pub & restaurant

The Kitchen at Farnborough

Ask for: Jo Robinson

Email: jo@thekitchenfarnborough.co.uk

  • Places

Publishing

Kimberley Media Group

Ask for: Adrian Goodsell

Email: adrian.goodsell@racetechmag.com

  • Motorsport

Radio equipment

Autotel

  • Motorsport

Recruitment

Cameo Consultancy

Ask for: Hannah Nicholls

Email: hello@cameoconsultancy.co.uk

  • Women in business
  • People

Recruitment

923 Jobs

Ask for: Helen Wright

Email: helen@923jobs.com

  • Women in business
  • People

Removals & storage

Jamie Briggs

Ask for: http://www.jamiebriggs.co.uk/

Email: julie@jamiebriggs.co.uk

  • People

Safety products

Lifeline

Ask for: Alec Parr

Email: alec@lifeline-fire.co.uk

  • Motorsport

Science communication and engagement

The Curiosity Box

Ask for: Renee Watson

Email: renee@curiosity-box.com

  • Women in business
  • Stuff

Simulator interfaces

Precision Sim Engineering

Ask for: Simon Hodgson

Email: sales@precisionsimengineering.com

  • Motorsport

Simulators

Cruden

  • Motorsport

Social media

Get Social

Ask for: Laura-Anne Williams

Email: lauraanne@get-social.media

  • Women in business
  • People

Tea

Happy Larder Co

Ask for: Leanne Duffield

Email: leanne@happylarder.co.uk

  • Women in business
  • Stuff

Team development, facilitation, and coaching

Team Flair

Ask for: Amy Reynolds

Email: amy.reynolds@teamflair.co.uk

  • People
  • Women in business

Theatre, studios, meeting rooms, gallery and cafe

The Mill Arts Centre

Ask for: Emma Nooney

Email: Emma.Nooney@themillartscentre.co.uk

  • Places

Travel

Travel Counsellors

Ask for: Dawn Gascoigne

Email: dawn.gascoigne@travelcounsellors.com

  • Women in business
  • People

Videography

Kingdom Creative

Ask for: Simon Harrison

Email: hello@kingdom-creative.co.uk

  • People
  • Motorsport

Virtual administration

Admin Support and Solutions

Ask for: Christina Taylor

Email: christina@adminsupportandsolutions.co.uk

  • People
  • Women in business

Volunteering

STEM Ambassadors

Email: inspire@stemnow.org

  • Causes

Volunteering

Young Enterprise

Email: info@y-e.org.uk

  • Causes

Weighing equipment

EEC

Ask for: Derek Hodder

Email: enquiries@eec-ltd.com

  • Motorsport